Lapierre Tabbed to New England Football Writers Division II/III All-New England Team

Tyler Lapierre
Tyler Lapierre

Boston, MA --- WPI offensive tackle Tyler Lapierre (Burrillville, RI) was named today to the Division II/III All-New England Football team as voted on by the New England Football Writers. The senior was one of 31 players representing 21 teams in the region, and was the only member of the Engineers selected to the team.

Lapierre, who earlier this week was honored a first team All-Liberty League selection, proved his versatility by starting at three different positions along the offensive line this season.  After a junior campaign that saw him start all 10 games at right tackle, he logged starts this fall at each tackle position, as well as, eight games at right guard. Lapierre anchored an offensive line that helped WPI lead the Liberty League in scoring (25.9) and rushing offensive (168.3).  Due to an early season-ending injury as a sophomore, Lapierre is strongly considering returning to play next year as a graduate student.

Lapierre is the first WPI player to be selected to the New England Football Writers all star team since defensive back Andrew Sides (Acton, MA) was recognized in 2008.  

The Engineers ended the season with a 3-7 mark under first-year Chris Robertson.  WPI enjoyed success in rivalry games this fall, rallying from 17 points down to defeat city-foe Worcester State 27-20 in overtime and knocking off Rensselaer 24-10 to capture the Transit Trophy for the first time in 14 years.

New England Small College Athletic Conference champions Williams College, Northeast-10 Conference tri-champion University of New Haven, and NESCAC runner-up Trinity College lead the team with three selections each.  New England Football Conference members Framingham State University and Maine Maritime Academy have two picks, as do Assumption College and Mount Ida College.  Also named to the squad were players from American International College, Amherst College, Castleton State College, Curry College, Endicott College, Merrimack College, Norwich University, Salve Regina University, Southern Connecticut State University, Springfield College, Stonehill College, Wesleyan University, Western New England College, and WPI.

The Division II Northeast-10 Conference had nine players selected, while from Division III the New England Football Conference and the New England Small College Athletic Conference had eight picks, while the Eastern Collegiate Football Conference, in its second year of existence, had four selections.  Two players came from independent institutions.

The team will be honored at the New England Football Writers Banquet on Thursday, December 9, at the Montvale Plaza, in Stoneham, Mass.  People interested in attending should contact Dick Lipe at Bentley University at 781-891-2334.

New England Football Writers Release