Liberty League Names 22 WPI Football Players to All-Academic Team

Brendan Gove
Brendan Gove

Worcester, MA --- For the first time ever, WPI's Football team placed a conference-best 22 student-athletes on the Liberty League All-Academic team with Aaron Champagne (Fairfield, ME) leading the way with his third nod.  Rensselaer was second with 16 honorees.

Juniors Andrew Baker (Rutland, VT), Matt Cyr (Dracut, MA), Trevor Dunne (Cedar Knolls, NJ), Ernie Mello (Wilmington, MA), Dan Nyren (Medway, MA), Dan Sullivan (Medford, MA) and Mohamed Yatim (Shrewsbury, MA) each pick up their second conference award in as many years. 

Taking home first time honors are seniors Brendan Gove (Rutland, MA) and Graham Leto (Grafton, MA), juniors Nick Bean (Middleboro, MA), Pat McAuley (Hingham, MA), Tom Reid (Braintree, MA), as well as, sophomores William Alves (West Warwick, RI), Joe Everett (Columbia, CT), Nate Gee (Rutland, MA), Daniel Keenan (North Smithfield, RI), TJ Ligouri (Westerly, RI), Greg Mollnow (Cohoes, NY), Josh Nitso (Londonderry, NH), Aaron Sabbs (South Hadley, MA) and Kevin Woods (Hoosick Falls, NY).

In order to be eligible for All-Academic distinction, student-athletes must have a full year in residence at their institution and carry a 3.2 cumulative grade point average into a season of competition.

The Liberty League consists of seven football institutions committed to academic excellence: Hobart and William Smith Colleges, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, St. Lawrence University, Union College, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, University of Rochester and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.