46 Engineers Earn NEWMAC Winter All-Academic Selections  

Winter Academic All-Conference - WPI Athletics 2022

Westwood, MA --- A total of 46 winter WPI student-athletes were named to their respective NEWMAC Academic All-Conference teams. The Engineers' swimming and diving teams led the way with 33 selections, including 20 from the men's team, tying MIT for league-high honors. The women's team picked up 12 selections, while women's basketball had nine, and men's basketball added five. 

WPI had 14 student-athletes become three-time All-Academic honors. Six senior members of the women's swimming and diving team joined that club, including Sophie Chase (South Portland, ME), Rayna Harter (Plainfield, IL), Sarah MacDonald (Yorktown Heights, NY), Monika Nowak (Longmeadow, MA), Katherine Pawlak (Westford, MA), and Kirsten Stevens (Reading, MA). On the men's side, Evan Buckley (Burnt Hills, NY), John Carroll (Naperville, IL), Peter Fagerholm (Newtown, CT), Cory Helmuth (South Bend, IN), and BK Jeong (Marshfield, MA) earned their third selections. Women's basketball tallied three three-time honorees in seniors Victoria Mirecki (Rock Tavern, NY), Alex Scariati (Scotch Plains, NJ), and Jordan Wynn (Groton, MA). 

The women's swim team added a pair of two-time honorees in seniors Jenn Brownell (Spring, TX) and Molly Sykes (Falmouth, MA). First-time honorees included sophomores Morgan Foltz (North Easton, MA), Elinor Ross (Brandon, VT), and Becky Young (Monroe, CT), Adrianna Yuen (Grafton, MA). 

The men's swim squad saw grad student Matthew Shriner (Arlington, MA) earn his second selection to the academic team, while adding 14 first-time honorees. Those selections included graduate student Justin Moczynski (Hingham, MA), seniors Henry Buda (Laurel, MD), Archie Milligan (Middlebury, VT), Matthew Olson (Honolulu, HI), and Evan Sauter (West Tisbury, MA), and juniors Ashton Lyon (Loveland, CO), John Puksta (Nashua, NH), Kyle Staubi (Red Hook, NY), and Christopher Thomas (Naperville, IL). Earning the honor in their first year of eligibility were sophomores Alexander Masiero (Richmond, MA), Griffin Bowers (Ambler, PA), Jack Brazer (Peterborough, NH), Roman Henry (Mullica Hill, NJ), and Angus Zuwallack (East Falmouth, MA). 

Men's basketball junior Austin Zhou (Acton, MA) earned his second selection to the academic squad, while sophomores John Adams (Douglas, MA), Andrew Lufkin (Auburn, NH), Jack Melvin (Wayland, MA), and Donovan Sevilla (San Ramon, CA) each picked up the honor in their first season eligible. 

From the women's basketball team, senior Eileen Piombino (West Chester, PA) and junior Kara ONeil (Holden, MA) became two-time honorees, while sophomores Samantha Curtis (Ellington, CT), Alice Kelly (Wethersfield, CT), Allison McMorrow (Quincy, MA), and Shannon Reno (Millbury, MA) earned first-time selections. 

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2021 fall semester, achieved second year academic status at their institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season. 

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute. 

NEWMAC Men's Basketball All-Academic Release 

NEWMAC Women's Basketball All-Academic Release 

NEWMAC Men's Swimming and Diving All-Academic Release 

NEWMAC Women's Swimming and Diving All-Academic Release