Record 108 Engineers Earn Spring NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Honors

2022 Spring Academic All-NEWMAC

Westwood, MA --- A record 108 WPI student-athletes earned spots on the 2022 New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) Academic All-Conference Teams. The list included 57 from the track and field teams — 30 from the women's team, which tied for second in the conference, and 27 from the men's team, also the second-best number in the league. The rowing team added 24 selections, second-most behind Smith, while the baseball team had 19 honorees and the softball team had eight. 

Leading the way were four-time honorees in graduate students Sydney Packard (Georgetown, MA), Katy Nippert (Salem, NH), Logan Gaudette (Holden, MA), Benjamin Steeves (Hollis, ME), and Oliver Thomas (Goffstown, NH), all from the track and field team. 

A total of 27 Engineers earned their third selections to the academic list. Women's track and field seniors Sarah Doherty (Goffstown, NH), Kaelyn Foss (Thoaston, CT), Emma Hartzel (Littleton, MA), Janelle Knight (Santa Barbara, CA), Katherine Pawlak (Westford, MA) and Nicole Whipkey (Portland, ME) were three-time selections. From the men's team, seniors Blake Audibert (Milford, NH), Devin Coughlin (Newton, MA), Owen Lally (Lebanon, CT), Nate Meyer (Princeton, MA), Alex Simoneau (Attleboro, MA), and Andrew Yatsuhashi (Reading, MA) all became three-time awardees as well. 

Three-time honorees from the rowing team included Emily Adams (East Greenwich, RI), Lexi Baker (Candia, NH), Alexandra Heline (Hebron, CT), Caroline Jaeger (Fort Montgomery, NY), Caitlin Kean (Shrewsbury, MA), Ashley Schuliger (Lewis Center, OH), and Eliza Smith (Beacon Falls, CT). 

From the baseball team, the three-timers included seniors Andrew Brooks (Millis, MA), Dylan Connors (Westboro, MA), Andrew Dupuis (Raymond, NH), Ryan Malkowski (Hubbardston, MA), Alexander Mondro (Westford, MA), and Jeremy Rhines (Plainville, MA), while senior Lindsay Ambrosino (Chelmsford, MA) joined the list as a three-time selection from the softball team. 

Earning their second All-Academic nods from the men's track and field team were juniors Tyler Guertin (Holyoke, MA), Patrick Hagearty (Londonderry, NH), David Reynolds (Andover, NH), Christopher Showan (Carver, MA), Andrew Sifferlen (Sudbury, MA) and Ryan Weeks (Cantonsville, MD). First-time honorees included junior Robert Dec (West Springfield, MA), and sophomores Tristan Andrew (Newtown, CT), Avinash Bissoondial (Millbury, MA), Robby Doyle (Bethel, CT), Matt Gadziala (Clinton, NY), Jarrett Gulden (Clinton, NY), Matt Lacadie (Milford, CT), Matthew McAlarney (Milford, MA), Chris Nguyen (Tewksbury, MA), Andrew Peyton (Merrimack, NH), Charles Phelan (Warwick, NY), and Jack Robertson (Uxbridge, MA).

From the women's team, two-time honorees included graduate student Skylar Barthelmes (Dartmouth, MA), senior Bridget Wirtz (Branford, CT), and juniors Abbby Calistra (North Attleboro, MA), Emily Deptula (Watertown, CT), Elise Deshusses (Chapel Hill, NC), Lora Dufresne (Sutton, MA), Liliana Foucault (Haverhill, MA), Kaylee Gladu (Woonsocket, RI), Grace Hadley (North Reading, MA), Geneva Isaacson (Bernardville, NJ), Charlotte Kokernak (Niskayuna, NY) and Michaela Mattson (Marion, MA).  First-time honors went to senior senior Shawna Winters (Milford, CT) and sophomores Deidra Anderson (Billerica, MA), Morgan Collins (Hudson, MA), Kayla Condon (Wethersfield, CT), Megan DeSanty (Holden, MA), Leithsa Dimanche (Billerica, MA), Vivienne Evans (Newtown Square, PA), Caitlin Guilfoyle (Hastings-on-Hudson, NY), Isabel Hallal (Foxboro, MA), and Sarah Ossing (Catonsville, MD). 

The rowing team saw two-time selections from senior Alexa Freglette (Staten Island, NY) and juniors Jolina Alonzo (Wappingers Falls, NY), Maren Cork (Seattle, WA), Lilly Earley (Needham, MA), Elizabeth Hicks (Guilford, CT), Isabel Nearing (Cochecton, NY), Logan Rinaldi (Rumford, RI), Kristen Soden (Milford, NJ), and Shelby Tweedie (Ware, MA). There were also eight first-timers from the team, including juniors juniors Malyssa Deranian (Windham, NH), Susanna Oppong (Worcester, MA), and Kathryn Woodland (Boxford, MA), and sophomores Eliza Dion (North Attleboro, MA), Grace McCarthy (Ludlow, MA), Jaya Mills (Wayland, MA), Merel Sutherland (Darian, CT), and Megan Tupaj (Amherst, NH). 

From the baseball team, repeat selections included juniors Jeffery Brennan (Amsterdam, NY), Kyle DeRoma (Dracut, MA), Kyle Johns (Milltown, NJ), and Everett Wonson (Wenham, MA).  Junior Joe Salvon (Longmeadow, MA) nabbed his first selection, as did sophomores DJ Brooks (Millis, MA), Chris Cavallaro (West Haven, CT), Russell Chase (Grand Isle, VT), Jake DelMonte (Southington, CT), Jacob Hand (Niskayuna, NY), Terrence McFarland (Needham, MA), Noah Pins (Holden, MA), and Owen Radcliffe (Holliston, MA). 

The softball team saw seniors Stephanie Bishop (Milford, NH) and Gabriella Cerbo (Middletown, NJ) and juniors Alicia Salvalzo (Hudson, NH) and Sophia Togneri (Hudson, MA) earned their second selection to the academic team.  First-time honorees from the team were graduate student Katie Martin (Bedford, NH), and sophomores Sydney Russell (Arlington, VA) and Alex Sheehan (Marion, MA). 

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2021 fall semester, achieved second-year academic status at their institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season. 

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute. 

NEWMAC Baseball Academic All-NEWMAC Release 

NEWMAC Softball Academic All-NEWMAC Release 

NEWMAC Men's Track and Field Academic All-NEWMAC Release 

NEWMAC Women's Track and Field Academic All-NEWMAC Release 

NEWMAC Women's Rowing Academic All-NEWMAC Release