119 Fall Student-Athletes Earn NEWMAC Academic All-Conference Honors

2022 Fall Academic All-NEWMAC Team

Westford, MA --- For the third-straight fall, over 100 WPI student-athletes have earned selection to their respective NEWMAC Academic All-Conference teams. 

The Engineers' football team led the way with 40 selections, while the men's and women's soccer teams each had 17 honorees. The field hockey team and the men's cross country squad each boasted 12 selections, while the women's cross country team had 11 and the volleyball team added 10. Overall it was 119 total Engineers on the fall academic list with all seven programs amassing the second or third highest total in their respective sports.   

Seven WPI graduate student-athlete earned their fourth-straight Academic All-Conference selection. The men's soccer team led the way with three four-timers - Mike Biando (Atlanta, GA), Evan Hallberg (Glocester, RI), and Christopher Martenson (Westport, CT). The field hockey team had a pair in Lauren Dishong (Milford, NH) and Natalie Mohn (Huntington, VT), while the men's cross country team also had a pair in Alex Simoneau (Attleboro, MA) and Andrew Yatsuhashi (Reading, MA). 

An additional 32 student-athletes earned their third selection to the Academic All-Conference list, led by eight from the women's soccer and football teams. Women's soccer's three-time honorees were seniors Caitlin Bonavita (Wilbraham, MA), Grace Casey (Winchester, MA), Annika Keck (Oakland, CA), Josie Kim (San Jose, CA), Kelsey Leach (Tolland, CT), Ashleigh Matsis (Milford, NH), Caitlin Strzegowski (East Granby, CT), and Skyler Wise (York, PA). From football, the three-time awardees were seniors Tommy Emrick (Windham, NH), Jake Feiss (Marlboro, NJ), Jacob Gassenheimer (Miami, FL), Patrick Hagearty (Londonderry, NH), Bobby Hyers (Winchester, MA), Harrison Kyriacou (Plainview, NY), Aaron Searth (Methuen, MA), and Mike Sposato (Flemington, NJ). 

Five each from the men's soccer team and the women's cross country team became three-time honorees. The men's soccer players included graduate student Erik Herrera (San Diego, CA) and seniors Matt Dzwil (Boxford, MA), Roe Hendrick (Nashua, NH), Luke Reid (Kingston, MA), and Francesco Valagussa (Arlington, MA). The women's cross country runners were graduate student Nicole Whipkey (Portland, ME) and seniors Elise Deshusses (Chapel Hill, NC), Lora Dufresne (Sutton, MA), Kaylee Gladu (Woonsocket, RI), and Grace Hadley (North Reading, MA). 

Volleyball seniors Catherine Reynolds (Concord, NH), Maddie Sanborn (Londonderry, NH), Renee Sawka (Westford, MA), and Natalia Wierzbicki (Wareham, MA) all earned their third academic nod. Men's cross country seniors David Reynolds (Andover, NH) and Ryan Weeks (Cantonsville, MD) rounded out the three-time honorees. 

Football's 40 All-Academic honorees were bolstered by two-time selections in juniors Frank Almeida (Freehold, NJ), Mohamed Barry (South Windsor, CT), Riley Bent (Brewster, MA). Douglas Cain (Jefferson, MA), Matt Haley (Hudson, MA), Samson Hodges (Mason, NH), Joey Horowitz (Plainview, NY), Drew Plunkett (Medway, MA), Frankie Polito (Shrewsbury, MA), Jack Radzanowski (Pittsburgh, PA), and Evan Wertz (Franklin, MA). First-time selections included juniors Max Anderson (Easton, MA) and Nick Coviello (Woburn, MA), as well as sophomores Henry Ball (Scituate, MA), John Chau (Suffern, NY), Gavin Chieff (Bernardsville, NJ), Sander Coscia (Madison, CT), Matt Creed (Rutland, VT), Nick DeMasi (Chapel Hill, NC), Michael Duggan (Tewksbury, MA), Jimmy Espinal (Salem, MA), Ben Furman (Groton, MA), Devin Kunkel (Boulder, CO), Thomas McDonagh (Northport, NY), Jack O'Connell (Scituate, MA), Noah Poulin (Salem, NH), Nate Russell (South Windsor, CT), Aaron Skaling (Bedford, NH), Drew Trust (Jackson, NJ), Billy Tyrrell (Oxford, MA), Preston Van Fleet (Marshfield, MA), and Nolan Warner (Grafton, MA). 

Men's soccer selections included juniors Codey Battista (Northbridge, MA), Ryan Martin (Douglas, MA), and Aaron Vaz (Medford, MA), who all became two-time honorees. First-time nods went to sophomores Andrew Cash (Marlboro, MA), Alejandro Clermont-Delgado (San Francisco, CA), Ryan Dalton (Staten Island, NY), Filippo Marcantoni (Ponti sul Mincio, Italy), Matthew McLellan (Hopedale MA), and Anthony Previte (Andover, MA). 

From the women's soccer team, juniors Lili Hellerman (Ashland, MA), Molly Vincent (Douglas, MA), and Hannah Wolfgang (Holliston, MA) all became repeat selections. Other honorees, all first-time selections, included senior Lilly Proulx (New Boston, NH), junior Allison Escott (Columbia, CT), and sophomores Madisyn Bagby (Aurora, CO), Lexi Carim (Wallingford, CT), Julia Colucci (Lynnfield, MA), and Olivia Toolin (Bedford, NH). 

Men's cross country juniors Avi Bissoondial (Millbury, MA), Robert Doyle (Bethel, CT), Jarrett Gulden (Walpole, ME), and Andrew Peyton (Merrimack, NH) all became back-to-back honorees. First-time selections went to junior Jack Robertson (Holland, MA), and sophomores Sean Corman (Waterford, CT), Jack King (Princeton, MA), and Justin Liona (Westford, MA). 

The field hockey team saw repeat selections from seniors Nini Acquista (Longmeadow, MA), Samantha Braun (Oak Park, IL), Rachel Drasser (Lunenburg, MA), Nikki Espeland (Stafford, VA), and Holly Mason (Plymouth, NH), and juniors Abigail Rauch (Jackson, NJ) and Samantha Robison (Wrentham, MA). First-time honorees included junior Lauren Meinhold (Boxboro, MA) and sophomores Lauren Simonian (Farmington, CT) and Alexandra Wolf (Clinton, CT). 

From the women's cross country team, senior Charlotte Kokernak (Niskayuna, NY) and juniors Deidra Anderson (Billerica, MA), Kayla Condon (Wethersfield, CT), Caitlin Guilfoyle (Hastings-on-Hudson, NY), and Sarah Ossing (Catonsville, MD), all earned their second academic nods, while sophomore Elie Bowman (Montville, CT) earned her first selection. 

The volleyball team's 10 selections also included two-time honorees and juniors Olivia Deckers (Marlboro, MA), Alexandra Spezzano (Medway, MA), and Jia Yazon (South Windsor, CT). First-time selections went to graduate student Suela Miloshi (Needham, MA), and sophomores Veronika Gorski (Southington, CT) and Emilia Krum (Saratoga Springs, NY). 

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2022 fall semester, achieved second-year academic status at their institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire semester. 

NEWMAC Football All-Academic Release 

NEWMAC Men's Soccer All-Academic Release 

NEWMAC Women's Soccer All-Academic Release 

NEWMAC Field Hockey All-Academic Release 

NEWMAC Volleyball All-Academic Release 

NEWMAC Men's Cross Country All-Academic Release 

NEWMAC Women's Cross Country All-Academic Release