Frank C. Harrington (1898) Award

The WPI Athletic Hall of Fame recognizes with this award those individual and/or entities that through the years have been distinguished and significant contributors to the WPI Athletics Program. Through their efforts and support, our athletics program has been able to flourish and enjoy success while contributing to the quality experience for our student-athletes. The award has been named in honor of Frank C. Harrington, a student-athlete of the WPI Class of 1898 and for whom Harrington Auditorium is named.

2022 - Pam Griffin - PERA Operations Manager from 2010 to 2022

2020 - Regina Roberto
Director of Health Services who was an important partner with the Athletic Training office within athletics

2019 - Helen Vassallo '82 - Second woman full professor at WPI and a great supporter and mentor to many student-athletes

2018 - Shawn McAvey - Longtime Department Member, Head Equipment Manager since 2002

2017 - Dave Abraham - Longtime Athletic Trainer

2016 - Harry Nyce ‘76 -  Rower, coach, financial support and volunteer for WPI rowing programs

2015 - Greg Snoddy - Longtime WPI employee who championed wellness as member of PERA

2014 - Philip B. Ryan ’65 - Former student-athlete and Board of Trustee chair served at Interim President in 2013-2014

2013 - Charlie Morse - Developed program for student-athletes identified as emerging leaders 

2012 - Dale Snyder - Assisted student-athletes as Director of Academic Advising

2011 - Ronnie Klocek - Longtime supervisor of WPI grounds crew

2010 - Bill Baller - Strong supporter of WPI student-athletes over many years as a professor and fan   

2009 - Bill Gibbons Sr. - Legendary public address voice of WPI football and men’s and women’s basketball

2008 - Chuck Kornik - Well-respected clock operator for WPI football and men’s and women’s basketball

2006 - Ted Butcher - Venerable clock operator at WPI football games

2003 - Donald St. Marie ’71 - Poly Club President for 11 years

2002 - Dave Ploss - Longtime crew coach, organizer and benefactor 

2001 - Mel Massucco - Contributed to the WPI as a coach (football and golf), teacher, and administrator

2000 - Jim Raslavsky - Enlisted the help of Professor Olson and started a crew club at WPI

1999 - Ann Goodney - Administrative secretary and handled “will call” window for home contests

1998 - Tony Ruksnaitis - Coordinated ticket sales for MIAA events, a true friend of WPI athletics

1997 - Rick Sisson - NCAA Faculty Athletic Representative and filmed/videoed football contests

1996 - Steve Hebert ’66 - WPI Vice-President and longtime contributor to WPI athletic program

1995 - Leo S. Jansson - First athletic trainer

1994 - Frank DeFalco ’58 - Volunteer assistant wrestling coach and member of Athletic Council

1993 - Bob Long - Football statistician and member of Athletic Council

1992 - Nils Hagberg - Head ticket taker

1991 - Ted Coghlin ’56 - Lifelong contributor to WPI athletic program

1990 - Joe Gale - Coordinated ticket sales and press box

1989 - Ramon Scott - Started WPI wrestling program

From 1989 until 2016 the award was presented at the department annual banquet. The award was transitioned to the Hall of Fame for 2017.