Diloreto Pockets a Spot on the New England Football Writers All‐New England Team

Loren Diloreto NEFW All New England Team - WPI Football 2022

Cambridge, MA --- WPI punter Loren Diloreto (Valley Center, CA) has been selected to the prestigious New England Football Writers College Division All‐New England Team.  The College Division encompasses all Division II and III college football programs in the region. 

Thirty-two conference all-stars representing 22 schools from the six New England Division II and III football playing conferences have been selected to the 2022 New England Football Writers Association All-New England team. The team, selected by a committee of representatives from the six conferences, honors the best Division II and III players by position in New England from the 2022 season. 

Diloreto established a new WPI single-season punting record, averaging 41.8 yards per boot, and also moved in the top slot as the Crimson and Gray's career leader at 39.9 yards per kick. He was one of four strong punters in New England in the top 11 in punting in all of Division III during the regular season with his 19 punts inside the 20 tied for first among the four and his 18 fair catches were more than the other three combined.  Diloreto belted a career-long 76-yard punt in the Engineers season finale against MIT. 

The senior is the first Engineer to be honored by the NEFW since Sean McAllen (Prospect, CT) and center Vince Lucca (Granby, CT) were recognized in 2019.   It is the eighth occasion a Crimson and Gray player had drawn the praise from the organization under 13-year head coach Chris Robertson.  McAllen was also tabbed in 2017 while other recipients include linebacker Brian Murtagh in 2014 and 2016, defensive back John Perron in 2011 and offensive tackle Tyler Lapierre in 2010. 

It been a busy week for Diloreto on the postseason awards circuit.  The senior was named first team All-NEWMAC last Wednesday and garnered a spot on the Noontime Sports D3 New England Football Team. 

The Division II Northeast-10, Division III Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference and New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference lead the team with seven players each. The Commonwealth Coast Conference and the Eastern Collegiate Football Conference have four representatives each while, the New England Small College Athletic Conference tallied three picks.

NEWMAC champion Springfield and the Northeast-10's New Haven had three selections each with NE-10 Champion Assumption, Bentley, Castleton, Dean, Framingham State and MASCAC titlist UMass Dartmouth having two picks each. Additional players selected are from Bridgewater State, Commonwealth Coast Conference champion Endicott, Husson, Massachusetts Maritime, MIT, Nichols, Norwich, Trinity, Tufts, Coast Guard, University of New England, Wesleyan, Western Connecticut and WPI.

The team will be honored at the New England Football Writers Captains and Awards Banquet on Thursday, December 8, at the Sheraton Framingham Hotel and Conference Center. Reservations must be made no later than Friday, December 2, and may be made at https://newenglandfootballwriters.com/captains-%26-awards-banquet. Tickets are $70/person and reservations are made on-line only. 

WPI was 4-6 in 2022, winning two of its final three contests.  The Engineers logged NEWMAC victories over Norwich and Coast Guard and defeated Worcester State and shutout Montclair State out of conference.

Portions of release courtesy New England Football Writers

New England Football Writers Release