Men's Rowing Has Varsity Eight in the Grand Final and Open Four Taste Victory in NIRCs

Men's Rowing Has Varsity Eight in the Grand Final and Open Four Taste Victory in NIRCs

WORCESTER -- WPI men's rowing concluded its 2016 spring season Sunday in the National Invitational Rowing Championships on Lake Quinsigamond.  The varsity eight reached the grand final while the open four had the privilege of tossing its coxswain in the water after emerging victorious in a nine-boat field. 

The varsity eight began the day by finishing second in heat two in a time of 6:40.192, just a second behind number two seed Hobart and a second in front of third-place Boston College.  The Engineers shaved over five seconds from their morning time in the grand final, placing sixth in 6:34.670.  The open four was clearly the best boat in its race, besting Michigan (7:37.819 to 7:51.371) by nearly 14 seconds to win heat one and bettering Bucknell by over eight seconds to claim the grand final. 

The novice eight got a taste of championship racing, placing fifth in the morning heat (7:18.408) and bettering its mark by nearly half a minute (6:49.811) en route to finishing third in the petite final.  The second varsity eight also raced well but was disqualified in the morning heats. 

Despite the DQ and not racing a third varsity eight, the Crimson and Gray racked up 29 points and finished 10th out of 22 scoring schools.

Men's Rowing will open up the competitive portion of its 2016 fall season at the Textile River Regatta on Sunday, October 2nd.


Varsity Eight
Kelsey Regan (Winchendon, MA) - Coxswain
Michael Beinor (Sutton, MA)
Nick Cebry (Bedford, MA)
Michael Eaton (Exeter, NH)
Jeremy Hemingway (Westford, MA)
Danny Singer (Eldersburg, MD)
Dean Schifilliti (Ossining, NY)
Nathan Pietrowicz (Worcester, MA)
Keegan Train (Minnetonka, MN)

Second Varsity Eight
Sarah Terwilliger (Guilford, CT) - Coxswain
Nicholas Carabillo (Simsbury, CT)
Lorenzo Dube (Fall River, MA)
Scott Cazier (Wheat Ridge, CO)
Jackson Krupnick (Ashville, NC)
Brede Doerner (Branford, CT)
Frank Campanelli (Avon, CT)
Jack Harding (Lee, MA)
Jack Perry (Londonderry, NH) 

Novice Eight
Cassie Pepicelli (Mansfield, MA) - Coxswain
John O'Leary (Rochester, NY)
Rob Hayes (Amesbury, MA)
David Bovich (Verona, NJ)
David Muse (Rye, NH)
Kellen Randall (Media, PA)
Kyle Whittaker (Methuen, MA)
Marshall Patrolia (Marshfield, MA)
Myles Spencer (Harrisville, NH) 

Open Four
Kenedi Heather (Taunton, MA) - Coxswain
James Vorosmarti (Center Valley, PA)
Paul Esteve (Colchester, CT)
Paul Danielson (Niskayuna, NY)
Zach Estrella (Berkley, MA)