Men’s Rowing Takes Three of Six Races in Easter Sunday Action on Lake Quinsigamond

2003 Cup 3 - WPI Men's Rowing 2022

WORCESTER -- Tufts successfully defended the Baker Cup as it knocked off WPI's varsity eight in racing Easter Sunday on Lake Quinsigamond.  The Engineers did however treat its fans to a victory over the Jumbos in the second varsity eight and a pair of wins over Connecticut College in fours racing.  

In a race that had to be restarted after Tufts suffered an equipment issue in the first 500 meters, the Jumbos, ranked third in the latest IRCA Men's D3 Varsity 8+ Top 15, reached the finish line in a time of 6:09.20.  The sixth-ranked Engineers proved worthy of strong consideration for selection to the inaugural IRA Division III National Championships in early June, battling Tufts all the way down the course and reaching the final buoys just 2.30 seconds behind (6:09.20). 

Racing in a tailwind at the start that proved to be more swirling as the boats rowed toward Route 9, the WPI second varsity eight posted a time of 6:22.80 to finish 2.71 seconds ahead of the Jumbos (6:25.51).  

Quick starts in the third and fourth varsity eights propelled Tufts to pair of additional wins.  The 3V bested the Engineers by five seconds (6:37.10 to 6:42.11) while the 4V led its race from start to finish (6:38.7 to 7:17.70). 

WPI capped the day with a pair of wins over Conn College in four racing.  The varsity four bettered a pair of Camel entries, reaching the finish line in 7:12.30, more than six seconds ahead of the Conn College B entry (7:18.78) and almost 24 second quicker that the Conn College A boat (7:18.78).  The second varsity four broke the take in a time of 7:11.55, significantly ahead of both Camel crews (A: 7:57.46 and B: 8:03.20).

The Crimson and Gray now prepare for Saturday's McGee/McCarthy Cup on Lake Quinsigamond with Boston College, UMass and Coast Guard.  Action starts at 9:50am.

Varsity Eight
Ian Wright (Belmont, MA) - Coxswain
William Bazakas-Chamberlain (Belmont, MA)
Noah Shoer (Portsmouth, NH)
Daniel Tengdin (Hanover, NH)
Ariel Schecter (New York, NY)
Tommy O'Sullivan (Purchase, NY)
John McCarthy (Halifax, MA)
Emerson Shatouhy (Ringwood, NJ)
Wynn Roberts (Pittsford, NY) 

Second Varsity Eight
Julia Farnum (Auburn, NH) - Coxswain
Samay Govani (South Windsor, CT)
Patrick Flanigan (Tiverton, RI)
Bradley Sprunger (Kingston, MA)
Mikkel Hersum (Weston, MA)
Alexander Rickards (Andover, MA)
Brian Fox (Hanson, MA)
Shane Donahue (Otis, MA)
Jacob Christensen (Bend, OR) 

Third Varsity Eight
Maya Yaakov Jakubovitz (Manchester, NH) - Coxswain
Andrew Roush (Austin, TX)
Samuel Dickens (Chester, NJ)
Issac Levine (Weston, MA)
Gregory Conrad (Lexington, MA)
Maxwell Onffroy (Shrewsbury, MA)
Blake Mcleod (Ledyard, CT)
Nick Manz (Southboro, MA)
Martin Wadzinski (Wilbraham, MA) 

Four Varsity Eight
Christian Varela (Yorktown Heights, NY) - Coxswain
Kalle Asaro (Holden, MA)
Eric Adams (Moultonborough, NH)
Oscar Villalonga (Fairfield, CT)
Akhi Yarlagadda (Tyngsboro, MA)
Francesco Marrocco (Demarest, NJ)
Neil Kale (Westboro, MA)
Tristin Youtz (Woodbridge, VA)
Jonathan Whooley (Stoneham, MA)