Men’s Rowing Closes Out Regular Season by Recapturing the McCarthy-McGee Challenge Cup

McCarthy-McGee Cup - WPI Men's Rowing 2022

WORCESTER -- WPI men's rowing reclaimed the McCarthy-McGee Challenge Cup on Saturday, as part of a regatta that featured the Engineers emerge victorious in all three eights races on Lake Quinsigamond. 

On the finest day of racing conditions to date this spring, the Crimson and Gray's varsity eight reached the finish line in a time of 6:07.290, over seven seconds ahead of Boston College (6:15.790) to even the all-time series in the McCarthy-McGee Challenge Cup at 4-4. The Eagles had last won in 2019 by two seconds before the pandemic cancelled the season in 2019 and the two teams did not meet in 2020 due to associated scheduling limitations.   UMass was third in a time of    6:21.066 while Coast Guard placed fourth (6:24.608).      

WPI continued is strong day of racing in the other two eights races.  The second varsity posted a time of 6:18.360 to out dual Coast Guard (6:23.514), Boston College (6:26.870) and UMass (6:33.810).  The third varsity engaged in the closest race of the day, besting BC by 1.48 seconds (6:35.300 to 6:36.784) while UMass finished fourth (7:15.089).                

The Engineers also had a pair of participants on the second varsity four event.  Their A boat was third in a time of 7:43.034 while the B entry was fourth reaching the final buoys in 8:06.679.  Coast Guard won the race in 7:15.120, followed by Boston College (7:22.234). 

WPI is back on the water next weekend, competing in the New England Championships on Lake Quinsigamond on Saturday.

Varsity Eight
Ian Wright (Belmont, MA) - Coxswain
William Bazakas-Chamberlain (Belmont, MA)
Noah Shoer (Portsmouth, NH)
Daniel Tengdin (Hanover, NH)
Ariel Schecter (New York, NY)
Tommy O'Sullivan (Purchase, NY)
John McCarthy (Halifax, MA)
Emerson Shatouhy (Ringwood, NJ)
Wynn Roberts (Pittsford, NY) 

Second Varsity Eight
Julia Farnum (Auburn, NH) - Coxswain
Samay Govani (South Windsor, CT)
Patrick Flanigan (Tiverton, RI)
Bradley Sprunger (Kingston, MA)
Mikkel Hersum (Weston, MA)
Alexander Rickards (Andover, MA)
Brian Fox (Hanson, MA)
Shane Donahue (Otis, MA)
Jacob Christensen (Bend, OR) 

Third Varsity Eight
Maya Yaakov Jakubovitz (Manchester, NH) - Coxswain
Andrew Roush (Austin, TX)
Samuel Dickens (Chester, NJ)
Issac Levine (Weston, MA)
Gregory Conrad (Lexington, MA)
Maxwell Onffroy (Shrewsbury, MA)
Akhi Yarlagadda (Tyngsboro, MA)
Nick Manz (Southboro, MA)
Martin Wadzinski (Wilbraham, MA) 

Varsity Four A
Christian Varela (Yorktown Heights, NY) - Coxswain
Jackson Pelletier (Newfields, NH)
Jonathan Whooley (Stoneham, MA)
Tristin Youtz (Woodbridge, VA)
Neil Kale (Westboro, MA) 

Varsity Four B
Hannah Peloquin (Rutland, MA) - Coxswain
Kalle Asaro (Holden, MA)
Oscar Villalonga (Fairfield, CT)
Robert Gunduz (Bronxville, NY)
Francesco Marrocco (Demarest, NJ)