Reymann Sweeps Freestyle Sprints as Women’s Swimming & Diving Competes at Clark

Thea Reymann

WORCESTER -- Junior Thea Reymann (Toms River, NJ) swept the freestyle sprints to highlight the WPI women's swimming & diving team's Saturday showing at the Cougar Invitational. The Engineers faced Clark, Wheaton and Division I Maine.

Reymann posted a 25.49 in the 50, a 54.11 in the 100 and a 2:00.23 in the 200. The trio of races also saw senior Heather Stratica (Wappingers Falls, NY) place second with times of 25.85, 56.85 and 2:02.39. Senior Abbey Nack (Ghent, NY) earned bronze in the 50 (26.36) and 100 (58.58) while sophomore Caroline Flynn (Norwell, MA) took third in the 200 (2:07.56).

Nack was also the anchor for the 200-yard freestyle relay, which also included sophomore Emily Morra (Glenville, NY), freshman Brianna Owen (Harleysville, PA) and Flynn, that won a head-to-head matchup with Wheaton in a time of 1:48.41. Flynn took the 200-yard breaststroke (2:35.84) and was third in the 200-yard IM (2:23.28). Owen followed Flynn in the 200 breast with a third-place 2:38.16 and placed third in the 100-yard breaststroke (1:13.60).

Freshman Anna Matsco (Windham, NH) touched the wall first in a head-to-head race versus Clark in a time of 2:14.97 and finished third in the 100-yard butterfly (1:02.69). The rookie diving duo of Leigh Whitehorn (Madison, NJ) and Alexis Mittelman (Montgomery, NY) each took the top spot in a one-on-one competition as Whitehorn claimed on the 3-meter as Mittelman secured the 1-meter.

Junior Kaye Dandrea (Lakeville, MA) logged a pair of second place times in the 500- (5:39.12) and 1,650-yard (19:40.11). Sophomore Jill Onishi (Groton, MA) and freshman Mackenzie Karnilaw (Houston, TX) came home second in the 100-yard breaststroke (1:12.53) and 400-yard IM (5:10.55), respectively, and freshman Jordan Myers (Hampton, NH) posted a fourth-place 1:08.78 in the 100-yard backstroke.

The Engineers are set to host the four-day NEWMAC Swimming & Diving Championships in the Sports & Recreation Center beginning Thursday, February 16 at 5:30pm.