Bauer Earns Top Billing as Men’s Swimming & Diving Takes Third at NEWMAC Championship

Bauer Earns Top Billing as Men’s Swimming & Diving Takes Third at NEWMAC Championship

WORCESTER – WPI senior Jack Bauer (Cumberland, RI) was selected as the NEWMAC Swimmer of the Year as the 2019 conference championship meet came to a close Sunday night in the Sports & Recreation Center. As a team, the Engineers placed third with 857 points.  

MIT retained the team title with 1,477.5 points and Coast Guard was second with 1,179.5. Babson (498), Wheaton (476), Springfield (475) and Clark (219) all finished behind the Crimson and Gray.

Bauer, who previously claimed 2015-16 Rookie of the Year and 2016-17 Co-Swimmer of the Year hardware, completed the backstroke sweep for the second consecutive year with a NEWMAC open and meet record, as well as a WPI record, with a B cut and 2018 NCAA invited time of 1:45.17 in the 200. It is also the third time in four years a Bauer has been recognized as brother Andrew was feted in Jack's rookie year. Joel Rousseau (2006-07) accounts for the only other WPI honoree.

The 200 back also saw freshman Peter Fagerholm (Sandy Hook, CT), senior Alex Gallant (Lakeville, MA), junior Joshua Driscoll (Haverhill, MA) and junior Jehu De la Rosa (Mission, TX) collect points with a appearances in the B final.

The 400-yard freestyle relay consisting of Bauer, graduate student Craig Barrett (Edinburgh, Scotland), senior Jean Philippe Miralda (Tegucigalpa, Honduras) and senior Jackson Perry (Cumberland, RI) placed fourth (3:06.13) in the A final after the quartet of sophomore Clayton Besch (West Sand Lake, NY), freshman Sid Williams (Irvine, CA), sophomore Tim McDonald (Walpole, MA) and sophomore Matt Shriner (Arlington, MA) took second with a 3:06.80 in the B final.

Shriner was fourth in the 200-yard butterfly (1:52.09) after registering a B cut with a 16:10.07 in the 1,650-yard freestyle. Perry, freshman Henry Buda (Laurel, MD) and junior Michael McCarthy (Long Beach, NY) were in the 200 fly B final. Freshman Matthew Olson (Honolulu, HI) and junior Markus Zimmermann (Sammamish, WA) were eighth and ninth in the primetime version of the mile as freshman Donald Buglino (Titusville, NJ), senior Roberto Esquivel (Tegucigalpa, Honduras) and Buda clocked the 13th (17:12.49), 15th (17:19.41) and 19th (17:34.76) place times earlier in the day.

Junior Dave Chen (Niantic, CT) took fourth (2:05.56) in the 200-yard breaststroke and was followed by sophomores Zach Denbow (Hooksett, NH) and Emmett McCann (Seattle, WA) in eighth (2:09.04) and ninth (2:10.98). Freshman BK Jeong (Marshfield, MA) represented the Engineers in the consolation final. Besch won the 100-yard freestyle B final which also featured Miralda, Barrett and McDonald.

The 2019 NCAA Division III Swimming and Diving Championships will be conducted March 20-23 at the Greensboro Aquatic Center in Greensboro, NC. The initial round of invites are set to be revealed at 8pm on Wednesday, Feb. 27 on The final list is slated for 8pm on Monday, March 4, also on