Trio of Runners Post Wins as Men’s Track and Field Places Second at Springfield

Lucas Smith-Horn

Springfield, MA --- Lucas Smith-Horn (Ellington, CT), Stephen Kocienski (Schaghticoke, NY) and Tim Forrest (Madison, CT) led WPI to a second place finish at the Springfield Invitational. Springfield College won the event while Westfield State, Rhode Island College and Eastern Connecticut State came in third, fourth and fifth, respectively.

Smith-Horn came in first in the mile event with a time of 4:38.27. Forrest won the 60-meter hurdle event with a time of 8.74. It is the second consecutive year Forrest has earned a qualifying time at the Springfield Invitational. Forrest also placed fifth in the triple jump with a distance of 40-7. Kocienski struck gold in the 400 meters, winning the race in a time of 51.98  . 

Forrest, Wesley DeChristofaro (Woonsocket, RI) and Tristan Richardson (Attleboro Falls, MA) all earned qualifying times for the NCAA Division III New England Indoor Track and Field Championships. For DeChristofaro, it was also the second straight year he qualified at Springfield. DeChristofaro came in second in the triple jump with a 44-2.00 and third in the long jump with a 21-3.50. Richardson, in the first meet of his first season, had a 6-1.25 in the high jump to place him in second.

Other top contributors included Joey Collins (Standish, ME), who came in third place in the 200-meter dash (23.58) and fifth in the 60-meter dash (7.32). Austin Holliday (Danville, CA) was fourth in the 200 (23.68), Keegan Westwater (North Andover, MA) was third in the mile run (4:41.48) while Josh Brodin (Mansfield, MA) was fourth in the 5000 (16:22.21).

The Men's Indoor Track and Field program will return to action on January 14, 2012 when they participate in the Bowdoin Invitational.