Richard Wins the 400 as Women’s Track Finishes Seventh at the ECAC DIII Championships

Noelle Richard

New York City, NY --- Senior Noelle Richard (Oxford, MA) won the 400 to propel women's track to 28 points in the ECAC Division III Indoor Championships Friday and Saturday at the NYC Armory.  The women finished seventh of 49 teams scoring.

Richard ran a season best with a time of 57.31 qualifying her for 16th on the NCAA performance list.   The win was the second of her career having also won the title in 2011.  Richard had a good showing in the 200-meter finishing 13th with a time of 26.19.  Laura Pumphrey (East Hampton, CT) soared 5-06.50 for a second place finish in the high jump.  The jump solidifies Pumphrey as the number four ranked high jumper in all of Division III. 

Adrianna Davis (Chemlsford, MA) broke her own school record in the 60-meter hurdles in her qualifying run with 8.98.  She finished fourth in the finals crossing the line at 9.06.  Her time is currently tied for 15th best in the country.

Freshman Kelsie Lazaro (Somerset, MA) surpassed her previous school record in the 500-meter with a 1:17.75 finish. The time landed her in fifth on the day.  Classmate Julie Tevenan (Weymouth, MA) scored the Engineers points with an eighth place finish in the 1000-meter.

In men's action, the Engineer distance medley relay of Lucas Roy (Bourne, MA), Nick Aleles (Tappan, NY), Thomas Kostelak (Bernardsville, NJ) and Ryan Moran (Pembroke, MA) earned points with an eighth place finish and a time of 10:20.41.  The time was a school record and earned All-ECAC honors.

Jameel Galloway (Randolph, MA) leaped for 6-03.25 for a ninth place finish in the high jump, while Wesley DeChristofaro (Woonsocket, RI) placed tenth in the long jump with a mark of 20-10.00.  Stephen Kocienski (Schaghticoke, NY) and Joey Collins (Standish, ME) competed in the 400-meter and finished 11th and 15th respectively.

Monday morning the Engineers will learn who will compete in the NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships held in Naperville, IL on March 8-9.