Women's Rowing Grand on First Day of NCAA Division III Championships

Second Varsity Eight

NCAA Video Recap | Day 1 Full Replay

Indianapolis, IN --- Both WPI crews advanced to their respective NCAA Division III Women's Rowing Championship Grand Finals with top two finishes in their heats Friday afternoon. The regatta is hosted by Indiana and the Indiana Sports Corporation at the Indianapolis Rowing Center at Eagle Creek Park.

The third-ranked first varsity eight won the heat in a time of 6:39.264. No. 2 Wellesley was second (6:40.747), No. 6 Hamilton was third (6:51.149) and No. 10 Pacific Lutheran was fourth (6:54.467). No. 1 Bates took the other heat in 6:28.620, followed by No. 5 Ithaca (6:35.334), No. 4 Wesleyan (6:47.283), and No. RV Washington College (6:55.256). Tomorrow's grand final will feature WPI, Wellesley, Bates and Ithaca, and the top two from the repechage that will be contested by Hamilton, Pacific Lutheran, Wesleyan and Washington College.

The second varsity eight heat kicked off the day; however, the race was halted quickly due to an equipment issue on another boat. The heat was restarted after the varsity eight heats. The crew of the Jen"Niffer" McLaughlin was second to Bates (6:48.639), and ahead of Pacific Lutheran (7:08.664) and Washington College (7:12.957) with a time of 7:00.342. They will be joined by Wesleyan and Hamilton, and the top two from the repechage that will include Pacific Lutheran, Washington College, Wellesley and Ithaca.

Despite a picturesque day, Thursday night storms impacted the course and caused racing to be postponed almost eight hours. Assistant coaches Elizabeth Crowley and Larissa Naidoo, and Men's Rowing head coach Larry Noble spent a majority of the day helping get the course ready for racing.

UPDATED 6/1 - 9:15am: The second varsity eight is back in the water for an 11:50am start while the varsity eight race begins at 12:10pm.


Varsity Eight

Madison Healey (Atkinson, NH) - Coxswain
Melissa Bazakas-Chamberlain (Belmont, MA)
Christine Hovermale (Alameda, CA)
Kinsey McNamara (Chelmsford, MA)
Marlies de Jong (Huntington Beach, CA) 
Amelia Harvey (Sudbury, MA)
Rachel Lia (South Burlington, VT)
Caitlin Kean (Shrewsbury, MA)
Eva Barinelli (Tewksbury, MA) 

Second Varsity Eight

Madeline Burke (Verona, NJ) - Coxswain
Ashley Schuliger (Lewis Center, OH)
Emily Adams (East Greenwich, RI)
Olivia Kiristis (Upton, MA)
Ally Sichler (Reading, PA)
Kylie Dickinson (Meredith, NH)
Josephine Bowen (Lunenburg, MA)
Lillian Neff (Havertown, PA)
Sarah St. Pierre (Maynard, MA)