Volleyball Stays Unbeaten; Wins Worcester City Tournament Title

Bailey Sarber

WPI 3, Assumption 1
WPI 3, Clark 0

Game 1: Box Score
Game 2: Box Score      

Worcester, MA --- Led by tournament MVP Bailey Sarber (Westerly, RI), the WPI Women's Volleyball team extended its school-record start with a pair of victories to claim the program’s sixth Worcester City Tournament championship on Saturday at Clark University. The Engineers improved to 10-0 following a 3-1 win over Assumption and a 3-0 win over NEWMAC rival Clark in the championship match.


Sarber was dominant in the tournament, totaling a combined 31 kills and 28 digs over the two games. In an opening-round match against Division II Assumption, Sarber's 16 kills and 15 digs rallied the Engineers to a four-set victory (25-20, 24-26, 25-20, 25-15). Senior co-captain Becca Holmberg (Worcester, MA) also shined in the victory, posting nine kills and a game-high 16 digs, while Kerrin Beovich (Seaford, NY) added eight kills. Both Holmberg and Beovich received All-Tournament honors.


The Greyhounds were led by 11 kills apiece from Jessica Haller (Meriden, CT) and Aimee Drainville (Rockville, RI). Haller added 14 kills, while Kelly Bluemenauer (Islip Terrace, NY) handed out 31 assists to go with her nine digs.

Sarber's outstanding day continued in the championship game, generating 15 kills on .429 hitting as the Engineers cruised to the title with a convincing 3-0 win (25-23, 25-12, 25-22). She added 13 digs and two service aces to her totals, while setter Alex Rangel (Weston, FL) handed out 29 assists. Holmberg. chipped in with six kills and six digs.


Kristin McGinty (Vail, CO) and Amira Tranchell (Falmouth, MA) led the way for the Cougars with eight and seven kills respectively. McGinty joined Sarber, Holmberg, Beovich, teammate Emily Visone (West Hempstead, NY), Assumption's Samantha Lupinski (Waltham, MA) and Worcester State's Lauren Saylor (Swansea, MA) on the All-Tournament team.


Assumption won the tournament's third-place game, 3-0 over Worcester State. Clark, winners of the 2008 Worcester City Tournament, were in search of back-to-back tournament titles for the first time since 1991-92.

Portions of Release Courtesy Clark Sports Information